Home

Titcomb Basin map

Topographic Map of the Trail to Titcomb Basin, Wyomin

  1. Topographic map of the path from Elkhart Park to Titcomb Basin in the Wind River Range, including the Pole Creek, Seneca Lake nd Indian Pass trail
  2. The basin presents some of the best views of the core Wind River Mountains. The hike to Titcomb Basin has it all. The trail passes through dense forest, flowery meadows, lakes, and ponds. Many people come to this area for the world-class fishing and climbing, but this area is a treat for anyone who enjoys exploring and epic views
  3. g. There are numerous opportunities to explore the area. You can continue to the upper basin following routes to Dinwoody.
  4. Titcomb Basin Trail is displayed on the Bridger Lakes USGS quad topo map. Anyone who is interested in visiting Titcomb Basin Trail can print the free topographic map and street map using the link above. The latitude and longitude coordinates of Titcomb Basin Trail are 43.1021735, -109.6312593 and the approximate elevation is 10,558 feet (3,218.
  5. Titcomb Basin Trail is covered by the Bridger Lakes, WY US Topo Map quadrant. The USGS (U.S. Geological Survey) publishes a set of topographic maps of the U.S. commonly known as US Topo Maps. These maps are seperated into rectangular quadrants that are intended to be printed at 22.75x29 or larger

Titcomb Basin : SummitPost.org : Climbing, hiking, mountaineering. Start from Elkhart Park, about 9400', and hike 10.5 mi to Island Lake, about 10,400'.While this sounds like one of the world's easiest backpacking approaches, it is more strenuous than it sounds, for the route does not ascend a drainage or other naturally ascending line but rather has several dips and reclimbs that make the. Map of the day 3 hike on the Titcomb Basin Trek in the Wind River Range. From Island Lake to the Titcomb Basin and back. Map of the Day 3 hike of the Titcomb Basin Trek (PDF) Elevation profile of the Day 3 hike of the Titcomb Basin Trek. On day 3, explore the Titcomb Basin, which has some of the best views in the Wind River Range

Structural cross section FF' across Titcomb basin area, Wind River Range. West is on the left with the deep Green River Basin. East is on the right with just the edge of the Wind River Basin. The gray is Precambrian, the blue is Paleozoic, the green is Mesozoic, and the beige is Tertiary Titcomb Basin Backpacking Guide - Wind River Range, WY. November 04, 2019 / Dave Collins. With dense forests, granite slabs, high alpine meadows and lakes cradled beneath craggy granite peaks, The Wind River Range, or The Winds, as they're called by fans, are jammed with bucket-list day hikes and backpacking trips that reward you with epic.

Titcomb Basin Hiking Trail, Pinedale, Wyomin

Date of Visit: 25 August—30 August Notable Features: Fremont Lake, Elkhart Park, Photographer's Point, Elkhund Lake, Barbara Lake, Two Top Lakes, Hobbs Lake, Seneca Lake, Little Seneca Lake, Island Lake, Titcomb Lakes, Mistake Lake, Fremont Peak, Indian Basin Lakes. Views of: Elephant Head, Mount Lester, Bobs Towers, Henderson Peak, American Legion Peak, Winifred Peak, East Twin Peak. Apr 30, 2020. Hike of the Week: Titcomb Basin. by Alicia Owen. Welcome to Paria's Hike of the Week series. Each week we bring you one of the best hikes North America has to offer. Reading about a great hike is usually inspiration enough, but we hope to motivate you to get out there and see these amazing places for yourself Titcomb basin hike. The 19th of August my wife and me, and my son and 3 kids, and a family friends family hiked 14.5 miles into the Titcomb basin in the Wyoming Windriver range. We camped half way in and completed the hike the next day. We also took my two pack goats which carried 100 lbs of gear. The hike is magic

Titcomb Basin - This side trip from Island lake visits stunning Titcomb Basin, a elongated valley ringed by 13,000-ft. peaks. The jagged summits of Twin Peaks, Mt. Woodrow Wilson, the Sphinx, Bob's Tower and Miriam Peak rise above the head of Titcomb Basin. Mount Helen, Mount Sacagawea and Fremont Peak rim the basin's eastern wall while American Legio Backpacking to Titcomb Basin in Wind River Range of Wyoming should be on every backpackers to do list. The rugged terrain offers massive mountains with spire towers, clear glacial lakes, high alpine grassland & wildflowers, and world class hiking, backpacking, and climbing. Titcomb Basin is truly a pristine and special place Map of Titcomb Basin Trail, WY with distance, driving directions and estimated driving time from neary any location. The starting point for directions can be a city or town, an intersection or a specific street address. The diretions to Titcomb Basin Trail include intermediate detailed maps of each turn on the way

Titcomb Basin was named for Harold Titcomb, who visited the area in 1901. Titcomb Basin is a beautiful, lake basin beneath some of the ranges highest and most spectacular peaks

Wind River Range Titcomb Basin from the south : Photos

Titcomb Basin. An alpine valley at over 10,500 feet deep in the Wind River Range, Titcomb Basin lies below peaks on the Continental Divide that soar 3,000 feet above the Titcomb Lakes, the highest of which is 13,745-foot Fremont Peak. High peaks flank the valley on three sides When it comes to Wind River Range backpacking routes, there are a few premier trails to choose from, each varying in length, difficulty and terrain. And, for now anyways, they're all permit-free. 1. The Classic: Titcomb Basin. Trailhead Start: Elkhart Park. Mileage: 29-30 miles RT. Trip Type: Out-and-back As mapped, this route continues to the furthest reaches of the basin, an option rarely chosen except by those continuing on to Gannett Peak. From the trailhead, the route follows these four trails to reach the basin: Pole Creek, Seneca Lake, Indian Pass, then Titcomb Basin. Some hikers choose Seneca Lake as a destination for a shorter hike

GPS Route by HAZ_Hikebot on 2019-07-14. Available in GPX & on Route Scout GPS Topo Mapper Titcomb Basin Trail, WY Latitude: 43.1021735 Longitude: -109.6312593 County: Sublette Area: Bridger Lakes Elevation: 3218 meters - 10558 fee Find Titcomb Basin, Wyoming (N 43° 6' 7.8264, W 109° 37' 52.5324) on a map 25. Panorama of peaks surrounding Indian Basin from the same spot. 26. View west towards Island Lake with the trail that is winding towards it. 27. Elephant Head from the same spot. 28. View north towards Titcomb Basin. 29. Another view towards Titcomb Basin from a bit below. 30. View south from the hills east of Island Lake. 31 Titcomb Basin Trail Wyoming Map Cuff Bracelet Unique Hiker Backpacker Gift for Men or Women,for Men or Women Titcomb Basin Trail Wyoming Map Cuff Bracelet Unique Hiker Backpacker Gift, Includes Mistake Lake and Island Lake, Wear your hike, A wonderful gift for the hiker or backpacker Ready to ship and will come in a gift box, My bracelets are created using a unique dye process that,Titcomb.

We started at the Elkhart Park trailhead and headed up to Titcomb Basin. I was little apprehensive about hiking this trail, because I was worried that it would be too crowded for my liking. The trailhead was crowded, and most of the people on the trailhead registration said they were going to Titcomb Basinbut we pressed ahead, anyway. Titcomb Basin is a premier backpacking and climbing destination that can be reached via a combination of several different trails and trailheads. However, the Pole Creek Trail out of the Elkhart Park Trailhead is the most popular choice and offers the most direct and perhaps easiest access to the basin. Check out the Official Route and Triplogs Titcomb Basin is a 5 km blue singletrack trail located near Pinedale Wyoming. This hike primary trail can be used both directions and has a hard overall physical rating Hiking into the Titcomb basin of the Wind River Range of Wyoming. Wind River Range, Wyoming. July 7-10, 2007 This hike began initially as a trip to help map part of the Continental Divide Trail on the Idaho/Montana border. However due to some problems encountered with this project we found ourselves in Jackson Wyoming without a clue as to the.

Titcomb Basin, Pinedale, Wyoming - Hiking Trail Map

  1. g in Elkhart Park you begin a 50 mile round trip that can include a summit of Gannett Peak
  2. g. The east side of Knapsack Col holds far more snow than the west side, and in most years the descent down the east side will require crossing moderate snow slopes
  3. g. We left Salt Lake after work on the 9th and spent the night in Pin
  4. Wind Rivers #2 - Titcomb Basin Overnight - Sep/7-9/2006 By David Metsky. After the previous trip we had one night in the civilization that is Pinedale, complete with a gear store, laundry, and brew pub. We took an early breakfast and got to the only trailhead with fully paved access by 8:00 AM. There were a bunch of cars there, but no other people around

Titcomb Basin Trail Topo Map WY, Sublette County (Bridger

Another classic of the Wind River Range, Titcomb Basin offers everything you'd ever want to see on a multi-day trip. Between fields of wildflowers, rushing streams, dramatic mountain peaks, and world-class fly fishing, Titcomb Basin definitely deserves a spot on your Wyoming bucket list Trail Map: Click map for detail version, be patient it's quite large. As we got higher up Titcomb Basin the lakes turned more aquamarine in color due to the glacial silt in them. This is the middle Titcomb Lake and it stretches on for over a mile. We were headed towards the pass on the right of this photo at the end of the valley Good suggestions to go to more popular places. we would plan to go to the cirque and titcomb basin. 1 Flag Quote. Old lady H · Feb 6, 2017 · Boise, ID · Joined Aug 2015 · Points: 1,308 splitclimber wrote:thanks for the responses so far. we would get spray and we have bear cans and would be really good about food prep and storage.. In this video I set out on a 3 night/4 day trip with Bryan Delay in Wyoming's Wind River Range. It winds up being a 4 night/5 day trip. Watch to find out why.. Titcomb Basin (Bonney Pass) is a 3 km double black diamond singletrack alpine trail located near Pinedale Wyoming. This hike primary trail can be used both directions

Titcomb Basin Trail Topo Map in Sublette County, Wyomin

Titcomb Basin : Climbing, Hiking & Mountaineering : SummitPos

  1. Beartooth Publishing makes topographic trail maps designed for outdoors addicts. Founded in 1995, Beartooth Publishing's mission has always been to make some of the world's best maps. Achieving that goal gets closer every year, but there's always more work to be done. Small, craft mapping companies like Beartooth Publishing are the ones.
  2. Follow the Titcomb Basin approach to Titcomb Lakes. Easily approached by heading east from Titcomb Lakes, passing Mistake Lake, which is full of Golden Trout, or was last time that I was there. 3 Total Climb
  3. Day 2: Island Lake to Titcomb Basin to Fremont Peak - 8 miles. We awoke and began getting ready for a beautiful day ahead. Whatever storm had hit us the night before was long gone and we had a perfectly still lake with epic reflections to stare longingly at. After a couple of miles of climbing uphill, I checked the map and realized.
  4. Titchfield Abbey, Titchwell, Titcha Ra, Titcomb Pond, Titcomb Hill. Here you will find the location of Titcomb Basin Trail on a map. To see how it currently looks like outside, below are some pictures of the area from online web cameras. You can also find the distance to the main cities in the region and to cities in the rest of America
  5. g and specifically the Bighorn Basin. We have a webpage for each spot and the list below has a link to each page. Sb1 Titcomb Basin. Sweetwater County S1 Leucite Hills S2 Fla
  6. **** Key Stats for Trip 2 (Titcomb Basin out and back) **** Dates Traveled: Thur 8/13/20 - Sun 8/16/20. Route: This was my first year going to Titcomb Basin. Unlike the Big Sandy Trailhead, which requires hours of driving on unpaved (and sometimes rough) roads, the Sacred Rim Trailhead was an absolute cakewalk to drive to

Titcomb Basin - Wind River Range, WY (40 mile route

Day Two: Hobbs Lake to Titcomb Basin with day hikes in the Basin (7.5 miles backpacking and 5.5 miles day hikes). We awoke with sunrise and quickly packed up eager to beat the intense midday sun and reach our destination Titcomb Basin. There are several hills and one decent size switchback climb from Hobbs to the basin Titcomb Ski Area is run by the Farmington Ski Club and was established in 1939. The history of the mountain and the club are highlighted in the ski lodge for those interested. Though open to anyone from the public, the Titcomb Mountain Ski Area still operates a club-based model

Titcomb Basin - Geology of Wyomin

The upper Titcomb Basin. Evening light on Mt Sacagawea and Fremont Peak. Camp in the upper Titcomb Basin with sunset light on Mt Helen. Summit climb from camp in the upper Titcomb Basin (August 28, 2016): ~12.8 miles with 5,800 ft of elevation gain; Total time: 11h20m Detailed map of the climbing route. Starting a climb to Bonney Pass Hiking back from Titcomb Basin with two pairs of skis. We had heard that once we got to Photographer's Point, the snow was suppose to be gone from the trail. This was the optimistic checkpoint I was excited for all day. When we reached the point, we got to see a beautiful view of Titcomb Basin from a distance

A blanket of grey, featureless cloud covered the valley, which meant the possibility of rain later in the day. I ate a quick breakfast, packed up and started moving. The official trail stops at the north end of Titcomb Basin, but I planned to connect with the Glacier Trail in the Green River drainage Prices and download plans . Sign in Sign up for FREE Prices and download plan Click Map For Forecast Disclaimer. Point Forecast: Basin WY 44.39°N 108.06°W (Elev. 3967 ft) Last Update: 4:59 pm MDT Aug 2, 2021. Forecast Valid: 5pm MDT Aug 2, 2021-6pm MDT Aug 9, 2021 . Forecast Discussion . Additional Resources. Radar & Satellite Image. Hourly Weather Forecast. Titcomb Basin and Photographer's Point here & another lake which I'll look up the name & I think is en route. I was also looking to do either a very long light pack 1-day sunrise-sunset, or 2 day overnight, to Cirque of the Towers in the Winds, and a couple of days to 2 lakes that look beautiful in pics in the Sawtooths 4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this map for Elkhart Park Trailhead/Titcomb Basin and north of this region. Reviewed in the United States on August 30, 2014 I bought both the north and south Wind River maps because I had planned to visit the Titcomb Basin area and both maps described themselves as covering this area (they Both say covers Elkhart Park.

Titcomb Basin Backpacking Guide - Wind River Range, WY

  1. i (23 Mercator Projection WGS84 USNG 12TWN-12TXN CalTopo Scale 1: 65239 1 inch 0 10 6 mi miles 11 km MN 10
  2. 14er THs on Map; Conditions. View Peak Condition Updates; Post a Condition Update; Trip Reports. View Trip Reports; Add a Trip Report; GPX. GPX Library; Weather. Peak Forecasts; WunderMap; Road Conditions (CDOT) NOAA Satellite Imagery; NOAA National Maps; NOAA Radio Stations; NOAA Snow Level Info; CO Snow % of Normal; CO Snow Line Graph.
  3. Day 3 - Day Hike to the Titcomb Lakes. The Titcomb Basin was all that had been promised and more. Besides being so accessible it was beautiful! It was one of the best day-hikes I have ever taken. There are a few camping areas in the basin itself, but if you choose to camp in the basin be prepared as there is little shelter

Winds'97 Map in Titcomb Basin: Mt Fremont reflection on Titcomb Basin Lake: Mt Fremont sunset glow: Island Lake Pass: Island Lake: Titcomb Basin Lower Lake: Mt Fremont and cloud bands: Mt Fremont sunset glow: Summer Ice Lake: Wind River range Purple flower: Titcomb Basin Bibler camp: Titcomb Basin lake view The hike into the Titcomb Basin of the Bridger Wilderness is one of the most incredible adventures you can take on this earth. AllTrails / Steve Cannon You'll pass eight major mountain lakes on your journey - like the beautiful Eklund Lake below - and you'll see a handful of smaller alpine ponds, too Pinedale to Elkhart Park (or visa versa) ( Titcomb Basin and CDT) $75 (1-3 people shuttle) $100 (vehicle shuttle) Click here to see a full list of shuttles or to schedule a hiking shuttle! If you cannot find your desired route, please call 307-360-3660. See the map below for Wind River Range Trailheads, Lodges, and Services The basin provides numerous options for climbing with a variety of difficulties. Exploring along the rocky outcrops that border Titcomb Lake. Becca Cahall preparing dinner for the group while the Cirque is bathed in alpine glow. Star trails over camp in Titcomb Basin. Watching the moon rise from one of the many peaks guarding the basin

Video: Elkhart>>Seneca Lake>>Titcomb Basin List AllTrail

Gothic Basin : Photos, Diagrams & Topos : SummitPost

Titcomb Lakes and Titcomb Basin via Pole Creek Trail

Titcomb Basin via Island Lake Outdoor Projec

Titcomb Basin Trail Wyoming Map Cuff Bracelet Unique Hiker

See map at right - the yellow dot is the approximate location of Titcomb Basin, our destination. We flew in to Salt Lake City, UT (just below and to the left on the map), spent a night in Park City to acclimatize to the altitude, and drove about four hours to Pinedale, WY This is a difficult one way trail in Bridger-Teton National Forest. This trail goes by Barbara Lake, Hobbs Lake, Little Seneca Lake, and Lake 10548 Lester Pass looking towards Titcomb Basin: Winds'97 Map in Titcomb Basin: Mt Fremont reflection on Titcomb Basin Lake: Mt Fremont sunset glow: Island Lake Pass: Island Lake: Titcomb Basin Lower Lake: Mt Fremont and cloud bands: Mt Fremont sunset glow: Summer Ice Lake: Wind River range Purple flower: Titcomb Basin Bibler camp: Titcomb Basin lake.

Titcomb Basin | Wind River Range, WY

Titcomb Basin - Home :: Hiking & Walkin

The view from the lowlands has much to do with Titcomb Basin's rich history, the Titcomb peak's prominence enhanced by their all but hiding 13,804-foot Gannett Peak, Wyoming's high point. The west-side rise is interrupted, at 10,000 to 10,500 feet, by a six-mile-wide terrace that distances the Wind Rivers from civilization and contributes. 1. Titcomb Basin Trail, Wyoming. Wyoming's Titcomb Basin Trail in the Wind River Range features several impressive alpine lakes. John and Jean Strother. Miles : 28 Days : 2-3 Difficulty : Moderate to Difficult. The case can be made that the Titcomb Basin, located in the Wind River Range of Wyoming, is one of the most spectacular hiking. Located at the end of Skyline Drive, in Elkhart Park, the Pole Creek Trailhead offers a large parking area, toilet facilities and a visitor information center. The trailhead is adjacent to the Trails End Campground. Access is provided to the Pole Creek Trail, Seneca Lake Trail, and Sweeney Lake Trail. The Pole Creek Trailhead is 200 yards to.

Titcomb Basin: Alpine Dream : Trip Reports : SummitPos

52 votes, 67 comments. Location/temp range/specific trip description: Wind River Range, likely doing / 20F - 80F / Sept 4-7~ish start, 3 days. Goal We followed portions of the Continental Divide Trail (CDT), detoured through scenic Titcomb Basin, took a side trip to abandoned but beautiful Europe Canyon, and crossed unmarked Texas Pass to reach the iconic rock-climbers paradise Cirque of the Towers before wrapping up our trip on Labor Day at Big Sandy

Titcomb Basin, Wind River Range, Wyomin

Location Titcomb Basin. Date Taken Aug 29, 2020. Date Added Sep 18, 2020. Author Troutnut. Camera Canon EOS 7D Mark II. View Full Size and Comment (6.7X larger). Wednesday, July 25 Titcomb Basin Today I'm going to try to summit Fremont Peak, the second highest in Wyoming. You're welcome to tag along since I believe the Titcomb Lakes are barren of fish. The climb is supposed to be a class 2 or 3 scramble Titcomb Basin A Photo Journey. Fishing Report Get the Scoop! Wind River Mountain Festival July 16-18, 2021. Float Trips. The Great Outdoor Shop is proud to offer guided fly fishing trips on some of the finest and most secluded trout water in the Rockies. The Wind River Range boasts the Green River and the New Fork River, and our guides have. Bridger Wilderness. The Bridger Wilderness is located in Bridger-Teton National Forest in Wyoming, United States. Originally established in 1931 as a primitive area, 428,169-acre (1,732.74 km2) region was redesignated as a wilderness in 1964 and expanded to the current size in 1984. The wilderness lies on the west side of the Continental Divide.

Review: 42 Miles Meandering Titcomb Basin and Fremont Pea

If accessing Gannett via the more scenic Titcomb Basin, expect to see other backpackers, climbers, and folks with livestock. It is important to plan for additional time to become acclimated to the high elevation, to be physically fit for the strenuous hike and climb, and knowledgeable about equipment and techniques for safety Fabulous sheltered but view-ful camps were to be found all along the south shore amid tarns and patches of meadow above the lake, and on a small peninsula jutting into the lake a bit farther on. Fremont and Jackson Peaks and the peaks at the head of Titcomb Basin punctuated the skyline but a ridgeline hid the Titcomb lakes Day 6: Titcomb Basin. I woke up feeling renewed. I was excited! But the sky looked threatening. It sprinkled a bit and the wind was blowing cold. I thought, If this day is a washout I'm going to be really p#ssed. Around 9:00 AM there was a break in the clouds. That's all I needed Smokey Bear District 901 Mechem Dr. Ruidoso, NM 88345 575-257-409

Elkhart Park Trailhead: Fremont Peak Summit - Great5 Great Fall Backpacking Trips in the Wind River Range

Hike of the Week: Titcomb Basin - Paria Outdoor Product

Bridger Wilderness Wind River Range, Wyoming. This site uses cookies to improve your experience and to help show content that is more relevant to your interests Peaks around Titcomb Basin in the distance. Pond and distant peaks at Pole Creek Trail junction. Camp at Island Lake, looking at Freemont and Jackson peaks. Wildflowers near junction between Titcomb Basin and Indian Basin. Click on the map to zoom in on the area

Titcomb Basin (Wyoming) - 2021 All You Need to Know BEFORE

Titcomb Basin (driving directions and hiking map), in the heart of the Winds, is already the kind of place that backpackers dream about. Head to Elbow Lake, a granite-ringed tarn at the end of an 18-mile trek from Elkhart trailhead With the big solar eclipse date just around the corner, it took careful planning to ensure I would enjoy Titcomb Basin sans the crowds. It tends to be just as popular as Cirque of the Towers.. This hike began at the Elkhart Trailhead near Pinedale and initially followed the Pole Creek Trail #119, a very dusty well worn trail.Don't count on finding water on this stretch Titcomb Basin*** - 29.4 miles out and back. This is another iconic Wind River Range backpacking experience that you'll want to have on your bucket list! Beginning from the Elkhart - Pole Creek Trailhead, this route combines numerous trails on its way to the basin and Titcomb Lakes Bridger National Forest was first established by the U.S. Forest Service on July 1, 1911 in Wyoming with 577,580 acres (2,337.4 km2) from part of Bonneville National Forest. On May 14, 1923 Bridger was transferred Wyoming National Forest, and the name was discontinued. On March 10, 1943 Wyoming was renamed Bridger After the field work is as complete as possible, we visit with local U.S. Forest Service and National Park Service land managers, as well as local outdoor stores, and incorporate their comments and edits into the map Find local businesses, view maps and get driving directions in Google Maps Hiking into the Titcomb basin of the Wind River Range.

Island Lake and Titcomb Basin Peaks (0295) | 2006-08-09 12A Week On Wyoming’s Wind River High Route - REI Co-op JournalContinental Divide Peaks-- Wyoming : Climbing, HikingSlender Hawkweed, Hieracium Triste

This story map is based on the page Physiographic features from the Wyoming Student Atlas (Hamerlinck, Webster, and Berendsen 2014, p. 11). Click through the pages of this story map to explore the natural landmarks of Wyoming in more detail with interactive maps of Wyoming's basin, mountain ranges, highest peaks and other important natural landmarks, such as Devils Tower Sunset over Titcomb Basin in the Wind River Range, Wyoming. Click photo for larger image. WellI'm back from an amazing 5-day adventure skiing in the Wind River Range. The trip was full of arduous trekking, incredible vistas, intense sun and of course, some awesome skiing. We went 2 for 3 on this trip and succeeded [ Store Hours: Basecamp Downtown / Tuesday-Sunday 9am-6pm Basecamp South / Tuesday-Sunday by appointment For a good time call 307-703-017 Starting near Pinedale, Wyoming in Elkhart Park you begin a 50 mile round trip that can include a summit of Gannett Peak. Starting elevation of the hike is near 8,000 ft and cumulative elevation gain will eventually be 9,000 ft.Titcomb Basin is 20 miles from the..